Music and Theater

There is something for everyone in our Music and Theater programs!

Queen
Liam Ellis, the Queen of Hearts

Children and Youth Music & Theater Dates

Fall 2019 At-A-Glance

September

  • Sunday, Sep. 8: First Weekly Cherub Choir Rehearsal @ 11:00-11:30
  • Wednesday, Sep. 11: First Weekly Junior Choir Rehearsal @ 4:00-5:30
  • Tuesday, Sep. 17: Choir School Tues/Thurs Schedule begins @ 3:15-5:15
  • Sunday, Sep. 29: No Cherub Choir (Parish Retreat @ Merrowvista)

October

  • Sunday, Oct. 13: Cherub Choir Sings @ 10:00 Service
    • No Cherub Rehearsal on 10/13
  • Sunday, Oct. 20: Choir School Sings @ 10:00 Service
  • Sunday, Oct. 27: Junior MT on Thaxter Stage @ 11:15
    • No Cherub Rehearsal on 10/27

November

  • Sunday, Nov. 17: All Youth Music Groups Sing @ 10:00 Service
  • Wednesday, Nov. 27: No Junior Music Rehearsal

December

  • Sunday, Dec. 1: First Cherub Pageant Rehearsal @ 11:00-11:30
  • Wednesday, Dec. 4: First Junior Pageant Rehearsal @ 4:00-5:30
  • Sunday, Dec. 15: Choir School Sings @ Lessons and Carols Service 5:00
  • Saturday, Dec. 21: Christmas Pageant Dress Rehearsal @ 10:00-12:00
  • Sunday, Dec. 22: St. John’s Christmas Pageant @ 10:00 Service
  • Tuesday, Dec. 24: Cherubs & Juniors Sing @ 4:00 Family Service

choir school 2

GROUP DESCRIPTIONS:

CHERUBS:

Cherub Choir is a fun and engaging group for our youngest students. Minimum age 4, through 2nd grade. We meet on Sunday mornings from 11:00-11:30 in the Choir Room. Cherubs are included in our annual theatrical productions: the Christmas Pageant and the Musical. Program begins Sunday, September 8th (2019)!

JUNIORS:

Junior Music & Theater is for our older students in grades 3 and up. Projects include musical collaborations, shepherding and leadership opportunities, Christmas Pageant, and one fully-staged musical annually. The Juniors meet on Wednesdays in the Choir Room from 4:00-5:30. Program begins Wednesday, September 11th (2019)!

CHOIR SCHOOL:

choir school logo not green box

The Choir School @ St. John’s is a tuition-free after-school music program with a choral focus that we offer on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons from 3:15-5:15. A robust curriculum includes individualized instruction on piano and voice every week, performance opportunities, guest teachers & musicians, and trained volunteers who provide a hearty snack, homework help, and community. Transportation is provided for Portsmouth residents. Enrollment open to students in grades 3 through 8. Enrollment for Fall 2019 is full, however we are accepting students to a wait list. Fall semester begins on Tuesday, September 17th.

IMG_7606
All the choirs of St. John’s!